•  

Trek Stache vs Full Suspension

October 15, 2020, 01:22 PM

I have been riding for about 2 years. Currently have a 2018 Trek Stache 7 and a 2020 Wyatt Maverick Fatbike.

I generally ride Quarry Ridge, Camrock, and PV/Blackhawk. Occasionally ride lacrosse and southern kettle.

Someone offered to buy my Stache ($300 more than I paid for it.)

My question is, should I sell the Stache for a profit and buy a full suspension (gg trail pistol or stumpjumper)? Or just keep my 2 hardtails?

Any insight would be great.

Thank

XXX

October 15, 2020, 02:28 PM

I took the plunge for a full squish this summer an it's great. The rear suspension is a really nice QOL feature and the bike has really helped me improve and have fun, and it feels much faster, more in-control (especially when the ground gets rough) more comfortable, and has more reliable traction especially on chunky sections. But it's worth mentioning that full suspension isn't without tradeoffs. It makes bikes heavier, jumps are a little bit tougher to control in certain circumstances, you lose some kinetic energy when climbing and bunny hopping, and it can even make it a bit more difficult to navigate super tight techy sections when you need to lift the bike by the slack of the suspension before the wheel even starts to come off the ground. Of course, several of these issues can be combatted by just locking out the shock :)

Overall, if you haven't had a full squish before then I say go for it.

XXX

October 15, 2020, 07:18 PM