•  

General Questions About Blue Mounds Trails

September 14, 2012, 08:55 PM

Hey everyone,

Just got a mountain bike and began riding out at Blue Mounds. I have some general questions about the trails out there.

• Is leaving at the pool entrance the only place to start?
    • Can I do Pleasure Valley and get back? Or how strict are the one ways? (sorry probably a dumb question) It seems like if you start at the pool lot and go East there is really only one way to get back in (from the North). Is this accurate? This one is kind of big because I'm a beginner. I went out on Over Lode today and it pretty much demolished me. I ended up ditching off on Ryan and riding back into the park.
    • Where to start on Pokerville?
    • Maybe it's because I've been out twice, but the climbs on Over Lode were really tough. I had to walk most of them eventually. Any suggestions for smaller hills I can use as training?
    • Does anyone have graphics of elevation for any trails from GPS tracking? I will get them from my phone soon enough, but it will take me some time to get to all of the trails. (Probably until next summer before I can ride Holy Schist!) PLease post them here if you have them, otherwise I will as I get them.
    • What would be REALLY nice if someone had the time would be to make copies of the map and highlight in red all the possible loops, I wish I was knowledgeable enough to do this, but perhaps someone could do it rather quickly who has the knowledge?
    • How late into the fall are the trails open?
    • Where can I check to see if the trails are open before driving out there?

Holy cow did I have a blast though. My family is really into road biking (2 ironmen) and I tried it but just got so bored.

Thanks for any responses!

Tim

XXX
    imwjl
    Middleton Bike Park Trail Steward
    Trail Steward

September 14, 2012, 09:24 PM

Welcome.