•  

Brand Spanking New...Kinda

Aged_Cheddar
    Been there, done that, threw my back out...

September 08, 2018, 10:10 AM

Hi peeps, please brace yourselves for a kinda long first post.  ;)

OK, so I'm brand new to mountain biking, and to make matters worse, I'm a member of the 40 something club.  :( AND I'm what you would call a "portly fellow" (kinda overweight).

So my goal is to first and foremost have fun!..and hopefully shed some pounds along the way. (wish I could shed some years too.  :() I'm not really interested in huge jumps (don't heal like I use to LOL), but eventually, some flowy trails with cool/fun techy stuff would be great!!

So, all that said, I bought a used Trek  budget mountain bike, and had it tuned up, it rides wonderful now, I know it's by no means a black diamond shredder, but it's a decent bike to learn my skills on....hardtail 29er, hydraulic disc, air fork etc...eventually once my weight is down, and my skills are up, I'd love a full suspension bike, but we are a long way from having that discussion.

Now I need some beginner trail recommendations, I'm pretty dang sure I'm not even "blue trail" ready...the will is there, but the stamina is coming up short LOL, could some of you kind people recommend me some fun, yet easier trails to "cut my teeth" on, maybe suggest some beginner skills I'll need to work toward to progress into more advanced trails? Ways that I can build my stamina for longer rides/climbs?

I know that at 46, time & statistics are against me, but I'm going to give it a go anyway, what have I got to lose!! See you on the trails!! (I'll be the heavy guy, panting and sweating...but smiling.  ;D

XXX
    imwjl
    Middleton Bike Park Trail Steward

September 08, 2018, 10:45 AM

Hi peeps, please brace yourselves for a kinda long first post.  ;)

OK, so I'm brand new to mountain biking, and to make matters worse, I'm a member of the 40 something club.  :( AND I'm what you would call a "portly fellow" (kinda overweight).