•  

Disc Brake upgrade

May 12, 2014, 09:53 AM

I'm thinking about upgrading the brakes on my 09 GT avalanche 2.0. They are the stock tektro disc brakes. I was thinking about some avid BB7's and was wondering if I should also upgrade the rotor to the one in the kit, or if it would be ok to save some money and just replace the caliper. Its about a $30 difference for each wheel to have the rotor.

Thanks Guys

XXX

May 12, 2014, 07:22 PM

I'm not a mechanic by any means - so grain of salt here... in my experience, you'll need to at least rough up the old rotors with coarse sandpaper and clean them with alcohol before installing the new calipers. This will help the pads/rotors 'break in' together and you'll have less squealing...

XXX

May 13, 2014, 09:33 AM

I'm not a mechanic by any means - so grain of salt here... in my experience, you'll need to at least rough up the old rotors with coarse sandpaper and clean them with alcohol before installing the new calipers. This will help the pads/rotors 'break in' together and you'll have less squealing...

I'm also not a mechanic, but sanding them sounds weird to me. I think the OP would be okay just leaving the stock rotors as is.

XXX
    Bmoha7311
    Specialized Jeremy

May 13, 2014, 12:11 PM

I see no problem with upgrading. As long as the wear on the old rotors isn't too severe. Not all calipers bolt up exactly the same so you need to pay close attention to where the new pads fall on the rotor.

XXX

May 13, 2014, 12:21 PM

In my experience, mismatched rotors and calipers tend to play just fine together. I got my first full brakeset with all components bearing the same name this year and it does feel nice. In my opinion, I don't think you'd see any benefit switching from one mechanical brakeset to another. You could save your pennies and find a deal on eBay for a set of hydraulic brakes which provide much more noticeable benefits.