•  

Entry level bike?

July 28, 2015, 07:41 PM

Hello all!
    I'm new here and a total noob.  I was recently gifted an old Trek 830 by a friend (I lost my own Trek MTB several years ago in my divorce).  On a whim I took it out to Devils Lake and became hooked on riding off road.  I made my first trip out to the John Muir trails this week (it was awesome!).  I am realizing that my free bike isn't going to last me very long.  The gears are quite worn and I struggle to get the bike into the lower gears.  I don't have a lot of extra cash or free time since I'm working on a second degree.  I'll probably only ride every-other weekend in the non-snowy months, possibly not at all when fall rolls around along with multi-variable calculus. 
    Do any of you have any recommendations for an entry level bike for someone who doesn't plan to ride frequently?  Cheers! 

XXX

July 28, 2015, 10:55 PM

If you're on a limited budget I'd at least stop by Dream Bikes:
    http://www.dream-bikes.org/

You can probably find something that will be an upgrade from the 830 and/or in better shape for $300-125.

For a price reference and you're happy with what you have, the same thing you have new would run you $370:
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mountain/sport/820/

As far as what bike - it would kind of depend on what kind of riding, how much hell raising you plain on doing, and if you care about having a big name branded frame.

XXX
    Walt Hougas
    Trail Steward - Blue Mound SP
    Trail Steward
    To Be A Man...

July 29, 2015, 04:00 PM

Is repair to your current bike a possibility? You could replace the chain, rear gears, and rear derailleur for less than the cost of another bike.

What shape is the rest of the bike in? Do the brakes work? Does the fork work OK? Wheels and tires OK?

Hard to say what your best course of action is without knowing the overall condition of the bike.

XXX

July 29, 2015, 05:29 PM