•  

Confidence for jumps and drops

Colin519

November 10, 2012, 01:51 AM

Hey I really would like to work on my confidence for jumps but I am rather scared of what might happen.  It is a mind game for me and as of right now I am not all the comfortable with jumps, but I would like to know how I can be ?

I have been riding (really riding) mountain bikes for 4 years now and I enjoy the small drop, and medium drop (now with ramp) at QR but in the downhill section there are 3 jumps that I would really like to be able to do.

Now for BH in there downhill section I always ride by the jumps b/c well they are big and I feel like if I were to go off them I wouldnt make the gap.  And I know it is a mental game... but I just cant get over it.

What can I do to help myself with these jumps and drops ?

XXX

November 10, 2012, 08:01 AM

It is a mental game and practice will bring confidence.  Start small with the jumps and creep up bigger, do the same jumps over and over until you think you could do them with your eyes closed.  After you are comfortable with jumping these home base jumps start to tweek a little.

Try building some small jumps over grass with gradual lips somewhere close to your house, do them often.  I used to build them out of wood and drag them out for a session.  Get dialed in with flat pedals and wear soccer shin guards!  Put a nut guard on your top tube, like pipe insulation.  Tape it on.  Lower you seat.  I used to wear a cup when I went big and for downhill, you can't ride long distances with one in. Jumping in clips is easier, but less forgiving.

Take your small wooden ramp to a small hill and practice landing down this slight hill (over grass).  Vary you speed and gearing.  You will do this so many times you will feel like the champ.  Next find a small table top jump and work towards making the down landing.  Table tops are great because you start small and there are no consequences for coming up short, you just land on top.