•  

First trail to ride?

scribble

August 10, 2012, 12:43 PM

I am very new to mountain biking and also am looking to get into a shape other than round.  I am looking for recommendations on the first trial I should tackle.  I have very limited, to no ability and also need more endurance and was recommended to just get on a trail in order to build said endurance vs riding around on paved roads. I only have ridden 2-3 miles on street, I know it isn't much but I am working on that so I suppose that mileage would translate to 2-300 feet on an actual trail.

From my post you can tell I like to joke and I can also make fun of myself at the same time.

I appreciate anyone's recommendations and help.
    Was referred by a member on MTBR

XXX
    Nelson
    Former Club President
    I ride bikes

August 10, 2012, 01:06 PM

For a completely tame off road experience there are actually some very nice gentle trails at Badger Prairie just off 151 at the Verona exit. Perhaps simply riding out the military ridge trail might also be a good way to build a base of off pavement riding. From there Quarry Ridge then Cam Rock would offer increasing dirt challenges.

~ i like social d

« Last Edit: August 10, 2012, 01:17 PM by Nate Woolever »

XXX

August 10, 2012, 02:01 PM

You might enjoy Cam Rock 2 just outside Cambridge heading towards Rockdale.  My kids can ride it, and they don't like biking in general, so something to be said there.  Its a fun/easy loop.

~ Burn rubber

XXX
    imwjl
    Middleton Bike Park Trail Steward

August 10, 2012, 03:03 PM

Hi,

Welcome!

My two suggestions would be consider some of the social events we have that are friendly to all levels.

On Mondays a group rides from the CamRock Sport Cafe in Cambridge. You can start that with just pedaling on the easy trail and try some other loops. Give a shout that you're a beginner and I'm sure people will help.