•  

New rider Bike Question

March 20, 2014, 11:12 AM

Whats up?  I am new to the mountain biking community.  This will be my 3rd year on the state trails.  I was hoping people might be able to give me advice on my current bike situation.  I bought this bike in 2010:

http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/BikeSpecs.aspx?year=2010&brand=Gary+Fisher&model=Mamba

I rode the bike around on pavement for the first couple years and the trails since.  The bike is stock.  I am interested in checking out some races this year.  I fear my bike wont hold up much longer than another season of riding.  I ride 2-5 five times a week at kettle, cam, or quarry and I spend about 5-10 days a year in the copper harbor area.  My big dilemma is do I dump $1,000 into my bike right now for better wheels, breaks, and drive train before the season gets going or do I try and make it last another year and buy a full. suspension at the end of the year?  Is the Mamba frame decent enough to where its worth upgrading the components.  Its a 21'' frame and I am 6'2'' 185 lb. not sure if that helps.  I appreciate any advice since I don't really know anybody who legitimately rides mountain bikes.  Thanks

XXX

March 20, 2014, 01:46 PM

If I were in that situation this is what I would do:

1. Plan to replace just the worn out bits on the current bike, maybe upgrading slightly in the process but not go overboard.
    2. Start saving to get a new bike at the end of the year. 
    3. Spend a few weeks scouring every corner of the internet to find a couple of bikes to put on the wishlist to have something to work towards.
    4. Walk into a shop that's having a decent sale and impulse buy a bike that I barely knew existed but looks perfect (love at first sight)
    5. Get over a short period of buyers remorse and spend the summer ripping up the trails on the new bike and have it paid off by the end of summer with no regrets.